FAQ Table of Contents

THE BLANKET PERMISSION LIST

(last updated April 1, 2011) changes in italics
Everybody - read this first!

When this list was instituted, it referred to posting lyrics to the FILK echo on Fidonet; then later to usenet. What we've got now is rather all out of proportion to the original, and I'm seriously considering deleting or at least heavily modifying the following. Accordingly, I'm about to email everybody on here, and to start a discussion on rec.music.filk on the subject. Everybody's welcome to join in, so see you there. (And if you can't get at usenet for some reason, email me.)
Ye Keeper of the FAQ, Kay Shapero

First off, here is a list of people who do NOT want their songs posted.
  • Alexander Adams
  • Heather Alexander
  • Julia Ecklar
  • James King
  • Lee Martindale
  • Mercedes Lackey
  • Luke Ski (www.LukeSki.com)
The following folks have given blanket permission to post their songs, so long as proper credit and copyright information are kept with the song, and it is not published or recorded for sale without specific permission from the writer. If a writer is not listed, check with them first. See also the above list.

Songwriters should also consider using a Creative Commons license to explain what they do and don't want with their songs. See the one on my songs for an example. See also the Open Music Licenses project based on the open-source software movement.

This could be useful too - The Copyright Office of the Library of Congress search engine

In the interests of cutting down on autospammer usage of this list, all dots have been replaced by spaces. Legitimate users feel free to make the obvious transform.

  • Philip Allcock (Philip@oreos demon co uk)
  • Dave Aronson (http://www.davearonson.net/)
  • Rick Bagnall (harlock@wolfenet com)
  • Steven Baldassarra (FidoNet 1:250/432)
  • Barthel aus Pennswald (barthel@sbcglobal net)
  • Samuel and/or Maryanne Bartlett(also "Anja") (1:105/56)
  • Dave Bell (dave bell@fonix org, dbell@zhochaka demon co uk)
  • Mark Bernstein (markbernstein@hotmail com)
  • Joe Bethancourt (http://www.whitetreeaz.com/, http://www.locksley.com, E-Mail from the web page, please)
  • Brian Biddle (address,anybody?)
  • Kihe Blackeagle (kihe@rocketmail com, kihe@ticnet com)
  • Heather Borean (heather@margetson ca)
  • Michelle Bottorff/Lady Lavender (mbottorff@mac com)
  • Steve Brinich (sbrinich@bigfoot com, http://www.bigfoot.com/~sbrinich)
  • Rich Brown (rab@FreeMars org, http://www.FreeMars.org/filk)
  • Matt Butler aka Winged Wolf (winged@spastic org)
  • Jeremy Buhler (jbuhler@cs washington edu)
  • Roger Burton-West (roger@firedrake org)
  • cat (cat@cyberenet net)
  • Mike Cattle (1:134/40)
  • I Abra Cinii (Abby) c/o Joshua Kronengold (mneme@dorsai dorsai org)
  • Mary & John Creasey 1:102/524 (creasey@worldnet att net)
  • Chris Croughton (chris@keris demon co uk, http://www.keris.demon.co.uk/)
  • Andrea Dale (dale@merlynproductions com, http://www.merlynproductions.com)
  • Brenda Daverin (lysana@aol com)
  • Sherman Dorn (sfxj9x@scfn thpl lib fl us, sherman-dorn@juno com, dorn@typhoon coedu usf edu)
  • Allison Durno (durno@interlog com)
  • Dick Eney (dickeney@access digex net)
  • Gary Ehrlich (electro@speakeasy net, http://www.speakeasy.net/~electro/electro.html)
  • Justin Eiler (new address arriving soon)
  • Bruce Feist (1:109/615)
  • Harold Feld (yaakov_hamizrachi@deja com)
  • David Nasset, Sr. (Filksinger) (filksinger@earthling net)
  • Mark Firetail (1:250/432)
  • Leslie Fish (lesliefish@cox net or c/o Mary Creasey (see above))
  • Helen Fleischer (1:261/1137)
  • Scott Fridenberg (1:170/901)
  • Snicker Furfoot, Esq. (aka Michael D. Lynch) (Snicker@pinkpig com)
  • Carson Gaspar (carson@taltos com)
  • Keith Glass (salgak@home com)
  • Daniel Glasser (dag@hamjudo com)
  • Dan Goodman (dsgood@visi com)
  • Lynn Gold (figmo@rahul net)
  • Bruce Grant (bgrant@furhold ifb co uk)
  • Gwenny The Pooh (1:128/203.2)
  • Tom Holt (lemming co@zetnet co uk)
  • Michelle Hansard (aka vix, vixy) (vix@cyphertext net, http://www.cyphertext.net/~vix)
  • Randy Hoffman (wraith@arcadecollecting com)
  • Robin Holly (rfholly@mindspring com)
  • Kate Holly-Clark (k_holly@hotmail com)
  • Suzanne Houghton (tpk@nwlink com)
  • David Hungerford (invertd@primenet com)
  • J-Mag (1:106/25, j-mag@hal-pc org)
  • Bill Jahnel (RStudent@aol com)
  • Rhodri James (rhodri@wildebst demon co uk, http://www.wildebst.demon.co.uk/)
  • Jester of Anglesea (MKA: Tony Jordan)
  • Debra Joseph aka Eris (ErisGoD@aol com)
  • Lindsay "Blue" Keipper (rhakshai@earthlink net)
  • Joe Kesselman (keshlam@alum mit edu, http://www.lovesong.com/people/keshlam)
  • Ketira shena Pretara'sedrin (aka Ketira shena Tale'pretaras,K'tir, Kettlingurr, Tracy Wyrs) (ketira@hotmail com)
  • Larry Kirby (mondotps@aol com)
  • Sam Konkin ( The old site appears to have vanished. Anybody know of another one?)
  • Jodi Kramps (jodi@musesmuse com)
  • Ellen d Kranzer (ccrazy@panx com)
  • Kylinn (kylinn@aol com)
  • Matt Leger (mattleger@earthlink net)
  • Arthur Levesque (bs@boog org, OhBrad@DammitJa net, http://boog.org/)
  • Mark Long (markalong64 @ hotmail com)
  • Michael J. Lowrey (orange@execpc com)
  • Minstrel aka Chris Malme (Contact via web: http://www.filklore.co.uk/info/contact.phtml)
  • Steve Macdonald (steve@mail msen com, steve@smacdonald com)
  • Scott Malcomson (horseman@indirect com)
  • Mark A. Mandel (thnidu@yahoo com, http://filk.cracksandshards.com)
  • Paul Mangan, [for Alternate Reality Filkers) Palman Lapgan, P. J. Lisner, Mary Malachi(Rocker Babe), Howard Phillips, Septus W. Rhode] (pmangan@kersur net)
  • Kathy Mar (kathy@xocolatl com)
  • Mitch Marmel (aka Major Matthew Mason) ( marmelmm@dunx1 ocs drexel edu)
  • Robbie Matthews (robbie@camrin org)
  • Ann McGrath (dabeadlady@yahoo com)
  • Erica Neely (elneely@polymaths com)
  • Benjamin Newman (newman@cs swarthmore edu)
  • Zander Nyrond(Jonathan Waite) (zander@xocolatl com, zander@cix co uk)
  • Maureen O'Brien (mobrien@dnaco net)
  • Debbie Ridpath Ohi (wow@inkspot com)
  • Mark Osier (osier@syrres com)
  • Samuel S. Paik (paik@eng pko dec com)
  • John Payton (1:299/105
  • Marguerite Petersen (goddess@peak org)
  • Joel Polowin (jpolowin@sympatico ca ca ca(to use, omit the ca ca))
  • Pooka (pooka1975@aol com)
  • Tammy Potash (1:203/1701)
  • Joe Raftery (joe raftery@btinternet com)
  • Daniel R. Reitman (dreitman@spiritone com)
  • Michael Richards (mike@z9m9z demon co uk)
  • Nonie Rider (also Quinlan) (nonier@q com)
  • Mike Rubin
  • Alison Scott (Alison@moose demon co uk)
  • Zev Sero (zsero@idt net)
  • Kay Shapero (kay@kayshapero net)
  • Rachel S. Silverman ("the Carrottopped") (gingi@world std com)
  • Fred Small (http://www.jg.org/folk/artists/fredsmall/fred_small.html)
  • Harry Smothers* (harrysmo@aol com)
    (attribute all songs by Gerald Bliss, or any of his other nicknames such as J Random Folksinger to Harry Smothers)
  • Mike Stein (mpstein@iname com)
  • Robert Stockton (rgs@cs cmu edu)
  • Holly Sullivan (1:202/720, jgrimm@sdd hp com)
  • Urban Tapestry (contact Allison Durno, Debbie Ridpath Ohi, or Jodi Krangle)
  • Christine Tillman (Kristil)(ctillman@galaxy csc calppoly edu)
  • Angel Trinkle (trinkle@acmelabs uhc asu edu)
  • Kevin van Houten (Qevan@comcast net)
  • BJ Van Look aka Lady Banjo (vesta@internetecds com)
  • Larry Warner (unknown - anybody? (was l warner4@genie geis com))
  • Dave Weingart (phydeaux@liii com, http://www.weingart.net/)
  • Mike Whitaker (mike@altrion org)
  • Keith Wood aka Keith Littlejohn, "Last-Verse" Littlejohn (kw@bctv.com)
  • Rob Wynne (doc@america net)
Kay Shapero, Keeper of the FAQ